What Would We Do Without Our People?

20131202-222435.jpg

I got home from work today and was overwhelmed by the amount of boxes in my house. I have to commend my family on what I can only assume to be fabulous post thanksgiving bargain hunting, but seriously, this little bean is going to be one lucky kiddo. He’s not even here yet and he’s wracking up some awesome gear. I think I must be underestimating how folks feel about this new addition to the family, but I’m so grateful for all of the contributions to his (and our) well being. From onesies to bath mats to high chairs and strollers, we’re getting to be pretty well set thanks to loads of unexpected generosity.

And for me, surprisingly, it’s just as exciting as getting any other gear. It’s a bit strange to geek out on all the features of a stroller or wondering if the Baby Einstein play mat may, after all, be too much stimulation and whether we’ll have to bring out the attached toys one at a time to avoid craziness (it works with the dogs…). And as we were putting together our travel stroller and car seat, I was trying to figure out how to get all this stuff on the plane so we can go see all of these people who helped us get rolling. I think selectively, actually, is how we get stuff on a plane. Maybe this won’t all come with us when we make the trek to the Midwest. Maybe. But at least now we can for sure bring the little guy home from the hospital, feed him, bathe him, and put him to bed in a crib or pack n play thanks to our family and friends.

And let’s not discount hand me downs! Two great boxes of stuff from Colorado! That stuff is tested, loved, and field proven. And oddly enough, at least one gift that I sent them will now be reused for our little guy. Which is clutch, since I really liked that bib. đŸ™‚

So we’re getting there. This is definitely getting real. But Jon and I had a pretty good time with our owners manuals putting everything together tonight. So I think that’s a good sign. And now we wait. The waiting is a bummer. I’m honestly ready not only to meet the little guy, but to have my body back. And not in the “oh I hope it’s exactly the same as before” kind of way, just in the “I’d really like to go for a jog or have a beer” kind of way. And the bigger he gets the more alien-like the kicking and moving around in there gets, so I think I’ll be okay without all of the poking. I know. It’ll come. Just anxious. I went in for the 28 week appointment today and everything looks and sounds solid, so he’s doing his job. In there getting bigger and stronger every day. Now I just have to finish mine. Be well, be fit, and patiently wait for my next cocktail. If anyone would like to sign up to pour that, please do. It’ll be a good day.

20131202-222452.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Would We Do Without Our People?

  1. Aimee says:

    I would like to sign up to pour that first cocktail!!

Leave a comment